Thank You to our 2016 CoBI Award Sponsor Astor Weiss Kaplan and Mandel, LLP

Each year, CoBI awards an individual who shows leadership and dedication in the field of brain injury. Past award winners include:

·         2007 Keith Robinson, MD, Physiatrist for the Philadelphia Veterans Administration Hospital
·         2008 Chris Nowinski, President of the Sports Legacy Institute
·         2009 Marilyn Spivak, Founder of the National Head Injury Foundation
·         2010 Michael Collins and Mark Lovell, Founders of ImPACT and concussion experts
·         2011 Mark Dias, MD and his staff, Penn State University, Shaken Baby Syndrome/Abusive Head Trauma Prevention Program
·         2012 John Whyte, MD, Director of Moss Rehabilitation Research Institute
·         2013 Barbara Geiger-Parker, President of the Brain Injury Alliance of New Jersey
·         2014 Scott Dillman, Founder of Fighting Back
·         2015 David Long, MD, Medical Director of Bryn Mawr Rehab Hospital
·         2015 Community Partner: BrainSTEPS Brain Injury School Reentry Consulting Program

COBI's Board accepts  nominations for the CoBI Award between June and August. If you know an individual or a community group who embodies the spirit of CoBI and has shown leadership and dedication in the field of brain injury, we hope that you will consider making a nomination in 2017! 



Individual Award Winner 

Briana Scurry - Legendary US Goalkeeper, Two Time Olympic Gold Medalist, World Cup Champion

One of the nation’s foremost thought leaders on traumatic brain injuries,  Briana draws on her resiliency to advocate for equality, traumtic brain injury and the development of women's soccer.

Community Organization Award Winner  

Congressman Bill Pascrell, Jr. and his Congressional Staff and Team - Promoting Awareness and Education


Bill Pascrell founded the Congressional Brain Injury Task Force (CBITF) in 2001 to further provide education and awareness of brain injury and  support funding for basic and applied research on brain injury rehabilitation and development of a cure.